Antelopes News · Fall Preseasons


As Reminder to all our student Athletes. You must have your physical prior to participating in preseason athletics. The physical must have been completed after June 1st 2019 to be valid.

Also, we do concussion baseline testing all summer long for all our student/athletes. It is recommended that Baselines be done every other year. Please contact our Head Athletic Trainer Ryan Johnson at rjohnson@avonworth.k12.pa.us to set up your appointment.

Baselines typically take about 30 minutes to complete

Football

Will begin their Pre-Season on August 5th with the PIAA mandated Heat acclimatization week. Any player wishing to play football must participate in the heat acclimatization week.

They will begin Actual Preseason practices on Monday August 12th.

Please contact Coach Johncour for any High school team questions at djohncour@avonworth.k12.pa.us

For MS Football questions please contact Ed Kurtz at ekurtz@avonworth.k12.pa.us

Boys Varsity and MS Soccer

Will begin pre-season practice on August 12th at Ohio TWP park. Typically they have 2 practices a day at least for the first week beginning at 8 or 9 am.

The boys also do some summer training and conditioning Wednesday and Sunday evenings.

Please contact Head Coach Tom Angell at lmangell@comcast.net with specific questions for the High School team.

For MS questions please contact Head Coach Bill White at bwhite@avonworth.k12.pa.us or Jesse Wells at jwells@avonworth.k12.pa.us

We plan on starting the MS season with practice on Monday, August 12 at 4.  Practice will run from 4 until 5:15ish until school starts.  From there, I plan on running practice from 3:15 until 4:45.  There will not be practice on the Friday of that week.  Players should bring a light and dark shirt as well as cleats, guards and plenty of water.

Girls Varsity and MS Soccer

 Will begin pre-season practice on August 12th at Ohio TWP park. Typically they have 2 practices a day at least for the first week beginning at 8 or 9 am.

The Girls also do some summer training and conditioning Wednesday and Sunday evenings. This year they have added a girls only workout for Thursday evenings.

Please contact Head Coach JC Mahan at jcmahan@verizon.net with any specific questions for our High school team.

For MS questions please contact Head Coach Cathryn Potter at cpotter@avonworth.k12.pa.us

 

Varsity and MS  Cross Country

Will begin pre-season practice on August 12th at Ohio TWP park. Typically they have 1 practice a day at least for the first week beginning at 8 or 9 am.

The team also does some summer runs and conditioning at various times through out the summer.

Please contact either Head Coach Jason Smith  at jsmith@avonworth.k12.pa.us or Sherah Rothman at srothman@avonworth.k12.pa.us with any specific questions for our High School team.

For MS questions please contact Head Coach Steve Tinker at stevetinker6@gmail.com

Volleyball 

Will begin pre-season practice on August 12th at the High school gym. Their practices will begin late afternoon early evening depending on the coaches schedule.

Please contact our new Head Coach Sarah Doherty for more specific questions at skaczuk@gmail.com

Golf

Golf is a Co-op sport with Northgate High School.

Please contact Head Coach  tgoble@northgate.k12.pa.us for tryout tee times

MS Girls Basketball

Will begin after school is in session. First official practice is September 25th. Please have the girls listen for the announcements for preseason workouts.

Please contact Kelly Walbush at kwalbush@avonworth.k12.pa.us for any specific questions.